GlitterThistle

Fashion, Travel, Lifestyle, and Opinions on Everything and Nothing.

2 Thumbs up for Anthro!

Leave a comment

So right before I went on vacation, I bought a pair of jeans with my Birthday Discount at Anthropologie. I asked two different staff members if the jeans would shrink, they both said “No way!” The jeans shrank. And I had no time to take them back. So, I ordered the next size up online, planning to return the originals when I got back.

AG's Tomboy Relaxed Straight Leg - (my new jeans).

AG’s Tomboy Relaxed Straight Leg – my new jeans.

Today I went in to accomplish this task. The return was a breeze, even after I told her I’d washed them. Then, figuring “What do I have to lose?” I asked if she could apply my birthday discount to the replacement jeans (I’d brought the shipping form from that purchase). She said, “I think so, let me ask my manager.” The manager, after hearing the request explanation said, “Of course!” with a big smile.

So as the sales person is punching away at her computer for this bit of awesome customer service, she told me the jeans are now 50% off on the website. I asked if she could give them to me for that price and she looked hesitant but after a bit of friendly chatting up, she went for it. To ice the cake, I asked for the birthday discount on this. She balked for a minute, but agreed to that too. So I not only got the jeans I’d wanted, I got them for a third the price I’d originally paid.

Level 99 Sailor Wide-Legs - my new trousers.

Level 99 Sailor Wide-Legs – my new trousers.

Now, if I were smart, I’d have gone home cackling in triumph. Instead I found a pair of casual-glam linen blend slacks on sale. I was super happy checking out because I’d still saved ~ $45. The parking ticket was exactly that. Sigh.

So my takeaway today is threefold:

  1. Anthropologie provides FANTASTIC customer service.
  2. Don’t be afraid to return things, or ask for further discounts.
  3. Keep track of how much time you have left on your meter!

Anybody have any shopping triumphs they’d like to share?

Author: GlitterThistle

I’m a pragmatic romantic who finds myself decorating things, places, friends and inevitably myself. I love color, texture, and shiny things. I’m a talker. I’ve been an avid traveler and the giver of travel, dating, and fashion advice to my circle of friends for 2 decades. My goals are conversation, creativity, connectedness, exploration, and finding beauty to appreciate. Posts go up a couple times a week. Drop by, leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

