GlitterThistle

Fashion, Travel, Lifestyle, and Opinions on Everything and Nothing.

V-Day

Leave a comment

Valentines Day, a loaded holiday, was my nemesis for many years.

179201_307658734958_10327634958_1165818_293035_n

I’m now a happily married woman (still a newlywed), and I fully realize just how lucky I am. I spent 20 years dating… kissed my share of frogs, and had my share of single nights. Those 20 years were spent working on myself (I know, I know, some of us have farther to go than others! Don’t judge!), figuring out how to be a friend worth having, and a real partner.

Hubs and I in September, 2012, on the ferry to Alcatraz for the night tour.

Hubs and I in September, 2012, on the ferry to Alcatraz for the night tour.

This Valentine’s Day, I decided to focus on loving my friends, my coworkers, my fellow man in general, instead of romantic love. My husband is on board and we’re not doing V-Day gifts or even cards this year. But just for fun, whenever we pass a display of Valentine’s Day cards, we pick out a few for each other to read. 

BEST. BET. EVER.

BEST. BET. EVER.

For the singletons out there, I hope you are enjoying the journey. There were times I did, and many times I didn’t. We all feel hopeless and alone sometimes. At the same time, as the song goes, “they call us lonely when we’re really just alone.” I took wonderful solo trips to Europe and Central America, had countless girls’ nights out, and learned that I enjoy my own company–whether on a crowded dance floor or in my living room by myself. 

183737_10150156908772463_108605392462_8049054_502160_n

Are you celebrating V-Day this year?

Author: GlitterThistle

I’m a pragmatic romantic who finds myself decorating things, places, friends and inevitably myself. I love color, texture, and shiny things. I’m a talker. I’ve been an avid traveler and the giver of travel, dating, and fashion advice to my circle of friends for 2 decades. My goals are conversation, creativity, connectedness, exploration, and finding beauty to appreciate. Posts go up a couple times a week. Drop by, leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

