GlitterThistle

Fashion, Travel, Lifestyle, and Opinions on Everything and Nothing.

Denim

1 Comment

Why is it so hard to find jeans that flatter?

I’ve had the “Why don’t they make jeans that fit me?!” conversation with SO many women. I have no real answers, but it’s sometimes nice to know we’re not alone with these challenges. And no matter what your body type… there is a jean out there somewhere that will look amazing on you!

Screen Shot 2013-01-18 at 3.07.04 PM

At least we live in a time when almost any cut works. I have all four of the above styles. Most are mid-rise, I have a couple pair of low rise, no high rise but that’s just because it wouldn’t work with my build… anything goes these days.

My best jean shopping tips for the utterly frustrated are, for what they’re worth:

  • Try a Lucky store. The employees there will ask what you’re looking for, put you in a room, and keep bringing you jeans based on your feedback.
  • Go to Nordstrom or Bloomies or an equivalent, and find the denim department. The sales staff will do what the Lucky’s staff does, but with multiple brands.
  • Listen to the recommendations of the sales folk. Obviously don’t buy something you can’t afford or don’t feel confident in, but if they suggest a different cut of jean, or suggest sizing up or down, listen. They do this all day, every day.
  • Try on everything you can. Get a baseline for what works on your body.

Even if the products you try on are not within your current budget, you can note the styles and sizes that work best for you and buy them in a cheaper brand, on sale, or on a discount site like Smartbargains or Bluefly. You can also check eBay, it’s amazing what’s on eBay!

You can also have jeans altered. I’ve done this at my dry cleaners with several pair.

What are your tricks for finding the perfect jeans?

Author: GlitterThistle

I’m a pragmatic romantic who finds myself decorating things, places, friends and inevitably myself. I love color, texture, and shiny things. I’m a talker. I’ve been an avid traveler and the giver of travel, dating, and fashion advice to my circle of friends for 2 decades. My goals are conversation, creativity, connectedness, exploration, and finding beauty to appreciate. Posts go up a couple times a week. Drop by, leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

One thought on “Denim

  1. Pingback: BASICS: My List | GlitterThistle

Leave a Reply

