GlitterThistle

Fashion, Travel, Lifestyle, and Opinions on Everything and Nothing.

Fried Egg Sammich

Leave a comment

Ever since a weekend getaway to San Diego over a year ago, I’ve been fixated on fried egg sandwiches. There was this fun little brunch spot in La Jolla, The Cottage, where I innocently ordered the sandwich to avoid starting my day with a sugar overload. If I could go back and change it, I’d do it all the same…

The Cottage, a restaurant in La Jolla, California.

The Cottage, a restaurant in La Jolla, California.

So the last year has seen many incarnations of my now favorite brunch. I feel I’ve got a good thing going, and it’s selfish to keep the yumminess to myself any longer.

Ingredients:

  • bread – whole grain or sourdough, something with character
  • tomato – colorful heirlooms are always a good idea
  • onion – yellow, red, white… they all work
  • bacon – I made the move to turkey bacon, this sammie is still decadent with facon!
  • cheese – asiago, gruyere, whatever you love
  • avocado – because you deserve it
  • egg
  • salt and pepper – vegesal is almost always even tastier than salt
  • condiments
  • TAPATIO – not negotiable

P1050330

I have no secrets to reveal here: fry the egg however you like. I like mine just the tiniest bit runny for the sandwich, and with too much vegesal and pepper. Grilled onions are the best, but I’m too lazy to fire up the grill, so I just fry them. Fry the bacon or turkey bacon too. Slice up the tomato and avocado. The biggest challenge I found with the fried egg sandwich was constructing it in such a way that prevented it from sliding apart.

P1050337

The order of layers is key. Mine starts with the foundation slice of bread slathered with condiments, topped with onions, then egg. On that goes the cheese, followed by avocado, then bacon, and finally tomato, topped by the final piece of bread schmeared with more condiments. Clearly at regular intervals during construction, there must be sprinklings of salt/vegesal, pepper, and tapatio. Now, fry that sucker up and savor!

The ooey gooey fantastic finished product.

The ooey gooey fantastic finished product.

What’s your favorite breakfast? Or a favorite recipe you brought home from a trip?

Author: GlitterThistle

I’m a pragmatic romantic who finds myself decorating things, places, friends and inevitably myself. I love color, texture, and shiny things. I’m a talker. I’ve been an avid traveler and the giver of travel, dating, and fashion advice to my circle of friends for 2 decades. My goals are conversation, creativity, connectedness, exploration, and finding beauty to appreciate. Posts go up a couple times a week. Drop by, leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

