GlitterThistle

Fashion, Travel, Lifestyle, and Opinions on Everything and Nothing.

Santa Barbara — Shopping and Entertainment

Leave a comment

Santa Barbara Continued… 

santa-barbara-things-to-do-top

Santa Barbara

As I posted yesterday, you could easily spend a day meandering around downtown Santa Barbara. The shopping up and down State Street is fun. There are loads of local shops mixed in with the standard fare, there’s some nice moorish architecture in the area, playful statues, and there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, and bars to take care of you when you reach your limit. Whiling away a day here is not a problem.

statue santa barbara - copyright - all rights reserved

Playful Statues

Santa Barbara Museum of Art was a pleasant distraction from shopping. I have an 1.5 – 2 hour tolerance for museums (I am who I am) so the small size of this museum was perfect for me, and they had a nice variety of quality collections. If you love to linger and spend hours you could stretch it out longer, but I didn’t feel like I was missing anything when I left after 1.5 hours. It’s conveniently located on State Street. I especially enjoyed the sculptures in the American and European collections.

Santa_Barbara_Museum_of_Art-Santa_Barbara_CA-USA

Santa Barbara Museum of Art

Sunday morning we checked out the Santa Barbara Arts and Crafts Show on Cabrillo Blvd, by the beach. There was one photographer that stood out and I’m kicking myself for not getting her contact information… but that was about it. I’ve seen more impressive events in Miami, Kansas City, Oakland… I guess Santa Barbara is a much smaller city. Maybe there were fewer vendors for the holiday weekend too… 

Art Walk on Cabrillo Blvd.

Art Walk on Cabrillo Blvd.

Lots of things were closed over the holiday weekend, but we did get to visit the mission. Having been to several other missions in California, it is not the brightest star in the crown. It’s an interesting site but the exhibits are out of date and seem somehow uncared for and forgotten. At any rate, the views from the grounds are phenomenal, huge vistas of mountain and sea, and it’s in a nice neighborhood. If you’ve never been to one of the missions check it out, but make sure you see some others too.

Mission

Mission Santa Barbara

Have you been to Santa Barbara? What spots would you recommend to others?

Author: GlitterThistle

I’m a pragmatic romantic who finds myself decorating things, places, friends and inevitably myself. I love color, texture, and shiny things. I’m a talker. I’ve been an avid traveler and the giver of travel, dating, and fashion advice to my circle of friends for 2 decades. My goals are conversation, creativity, connectedness, exploration, and finding beauty to appreciate. Posts go up a couple times a week. Drop by, leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

