GlitterThistle

Fashion, Travel, Lifestyle, and Opinions on Everything and Nothing.

The Weather Outside is Frightful… Winter Coats!

Leave a comment

With the chilly weather solidly in residence for much of the country, we are constantly presenting ourselves to the world swathed in our winter coats.

I, like many of you, believe in investing in a quality coat every few years and taking very good care of it. My last one was an Ann Klein purchased in 2007 from Loehmans during the spring sales, for 70$. Spring sales are the perfect time to shop for winter staples. I like to look around beforehand and have several styles in mind, plan a bit, but be open to what’s available. 

I’m thinking about my next coat, and here are a few of the interesting options:

Rhyme and Echo, Mia Fitted Coat– a fabulous casual coat for spring, or winter in a warmer climate, and only 99$:

cn5783695

Vivienne Westwood Anglomania Asymmetric Red Wool Coat– every woman should have a red coat, this one just bowls me over. And as the crew over at Refinery 29 pointed out, look at that cut, this will look AMAZING on the curvy ladies. Va va va voom! It’s an excusable splurge at 500$. You’ll wear it for years, and everyone will ask where you got it.

Screen Shot 2012-12-10 at 8.58.06 PM

Winter white is big this year, so is fur. This coat combines the 2 along with a slim cut and a slight a-line. Faux Fur Collar Coat from Victoria’s Secret. On sale now for 131$.

193584483954494951_HgL5Qm1g_c

This Leopard Faux Fur number from Forever 21 surprised me when I ran across it in the store. The quality is comparable to much more expensive similar designs. And only 63$.

Screen Shot 2012-12-11 at 7.51.58 PM

What are you looking for at the spring sales this year?

Author: GlitterThistle

I’m a pragmatic romantic who finds myself decorating things, places, friends and inevitably myself. I love color, texture, and shiny things. I’m a talker. I’ve been an avid traveler and the giver of travel, dating, and fashion advice to my circle of friends for 2 decades. My goals are conversation, creativity, connectedness, exploration, and finding beauty to appreciate. Posts go up a couple times a week. Drop by, leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

