GlitterThistle

Fashion, Travel, Lifestyle, and Opinions on Everything and Nothing.

All Is Calm… (gifts part 2)

Leave a comment

I have always had a lot of Fella Friends. I love my girls, but there’s something so great about hanging out with the guys and just having a beer and talking smack.

So here are some easy general gift ideas for the men in your life, be they friends, family, or partner:

Screen Shot 2012-12-07 at 12.43.36 PM

Smartwool. I’m obsessed with this stuff. It’s magically comfortable merino wool that seems to be primarily marketed for sports/outdoorsy purposes but it’s gorgeous comfortable fabric that keeps you warm, wicks moisture, and looks amazing. The men’s line is perfect for all your guys: urban, suburban, or backcountry! REI is the most convenient place to acquire Smartwool in my neck of the woods, but the magic google can tell you where you can obtain it in your region.

  1. The Half-Zip Sweater is gorgeous and can be dressed down or up, this grey looks good on everyone.
  2. “The Lid” hat is a great winter staple. I like the Smartwool website for this product as there are more color options and you can go safe with the black or bring out his blue eyes with the navy, or green and hazel eyes with the olive.
  3. The Longview Scarf comes in some fun stripes or the safe solids. He probably needs to toss his ratty scarf he’s been wearing for the last 8 years, doesn’t he? This one is so much nicer!

bull-catchall-30003690-1

This catchall is masculine and sleek. Great for his cufflinks, keys, or his lucky wooden nickel.

Screen Shot 2012-12-07 at 1.48.17 PM

Then there’s a personalized T-Shirt, always a winner. A phrase from a favorite movie, his motto, or a line that reminds him of a private joke you share. Freak Magnet is an old nickname of mine (long story) and I actually have a t-shirt very similar to this. There are loads of websites that help you make and purchase customized items, Spreadshirt seems reputable and easy to use, but I’m not associated with them in any way and cannot truly speak to the quality of their products and service.

More ideas tomorrow, in the meantime, what is the best gift you’ve ever given?

Author: GlitterThistle

I’m a pragmatic romantic who finds myself decorating things, places, friends and inevitably myself. I love color, texture, and shiny things. I’m a talker. I’ve been an avid traveler and the giver of travel, dating, and fashion advice to my circle of friends for 2 decades. My goals are conversation, creativity, connectedness, exploration, and finding beauty to appreciate. Posts go up a couple times a week. Drop by, leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a comment