GlitterThistle

Fashion, Travel, Lifestyle, and Opinions on Everything and Nothing.

Add Color

Leave a comment

Yesterday’s post about outlet malls and scarves has gotten me thinking about the importance of accessories and color in outfits, especially when traveling.

For my trip to Carmel I opted to keep my basic color scheme black. I always choose black or brown, keeping my shoes, bags, and accessories in one color family so everything goes together and I can mix and match if unanticipated wardrobe needs arise.

Accent pieces break up the basics and make things more versatile, totally change the same outfit with 3 different accents (scarf, bag, earrings, necklace, colored t, shoes, etc). For this trip I had black yoga pants for driving and hiking, dark jeans for evening, and white, black, and grey tops and sweaters. I also brought a purple mid-layer henley and a leopard print silk scarf. My jewelry was both silver and gold, tied together by black stones. For footwear I took my black and cobalt Merrell’s for hiking, and black mid calf Corso Como boots for everything else. My black Tory Burch handback with a black wallet that can double as a clutch topped it off

In the past I’ve used similar organization with cognac (my favorite shade of brown) shoes and bag, and coordinating basics with just a few bright or patterned pieces that spice things up. This method keeps me from bringing more than 3 pairs of shoes (flip flops don’t count!) on any trip. I by no means developed this, you’ll find similar advice in all kinds of places, but as we all do, I’ve adapted it to suit my needs.

What are your favorite packing tips?

Author: GlitterThistle

I’m a pragmatic romantic who finds myself decorating things, places, friends and inevitably myself. I love color, texture, and shiny things. I’m a talker. I’ve been an avid traveler and the giver of travel, dating, and fashion advice to my circle of friends for 2 decades. My goals are conversation, creativity, connectedness, exploration, and finding beauty to appreciate. Posts go up a couple times a week. Drop by, leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

