GlitterThistle

Fashion, Travel, Lifestyle, and Opinions on Everything and Nothing.

Outlet Mall!

1 Comment

On the way back from Carmel, there was a mandatory shopping stop at the outlets. The Gilroy Outlet Mall, if you are unfamiliar, is massive and had great Veterans’ Day deals.
BCBG had some great scarves 40% off and I had picked out one I was in love with, when I took a step back and compared them to items I already own.

The scarf I intended to purchase:

The desired infinity scarf (must get a better photo next time but the employees were giving me the stink-eye) is on the far left, and again on the right where you can better see the lengthwise division of color–half grey, half green.

These are 2 I already own.

My grey infinity scarf. It is in heavy rotation during winter months.

Favorite greenie… a go to for a pop of color on a dreary day!

I realized that I own a grey infinity scarf already (purchased last year on piperlime.com) and have a green scarf that I bought on the street in London in 2009 (I love to purchase small cheap accessories when traveling, I think of my trip every time I wear the piece).

A friend told me years ago that the dress I was trying on was just like 3 others in my closet and I’ve never forgotten that lesson. When we like something, we feel attractive in a certain cut or color, feel comfortable and confident in a piece, we naturally are drawn to similar items. It’s good to know what works for you, but it’s also good to diversify your wardrobe and have different options. One can, after all, have too many ivory ruffled t-shirts. Or too many green scarves. Besides, the solid colors are more versatile.

What pieces do you have in multiples?

Author: GlitterThistle

I’m a pragmatic romantic who finds myself decorating things, places, friends and inevitably myself. I love color, texture, and shiny things. I’m a talker. I’ve been an avid traveler and the giver of travel, dating, and fashion advice to my circle of friends for 2 decades. My goals are conversation, creativity, connectedness, exploration, and finding beauty to appreciate. Posts go up a couple times a week. Drop by, leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

One thought on “Outlet Mall!

  1. Pingback: Good Stuff From Unexpected Places « GlitterThistle

Leave a Reply

