GlitterThistle

Fashion, Travel, Lifestyle, and Opinions on Everything and Nothing.

Getting Away

Leave a comment

This weekend I drove down the coast to Carmel with a girlfriend. Since my marriage in May of this year, there have been a lot of candlelit nights at home. It’s time to come out of the newlywed shell and reconnect with my amazing network of friends. I want to put in the time and energy to maintain ties with the people who have been such an important part of my life for so long Before the Wedding. We had such a great time! We caught up on all our news on the drive down and found a cute hotel in the downtown area using the last minute hotel finder from Hotwire.com.

There are so many great resources out there for discount travel. Orbitz.com has been very good to me in the past. When planning a trip in advance, they will actually give you a refund if anyone else books the same trip for a lower rate before the date of travel. Last year we received  a 485$ refund check after our holiday travel.
I opted to spend a little more this time since we were splitting the cost of the room and it gave us proximity to both the beach and city center, and we planned to spend time there with a glass of wine after dinner, solving the problems of the world.
It’s all in your priorites. If you know you won’t be spending much time in your room, definitely go more basic and save your money for meals, shopping, golf fees, renting a kayak, whatever floats your boat (sorry, but it was right there, I had to…).

Carmel-by-the-Sea

Carmel-by-the-Sea

Sunset over Carmel Beach

Art in the courtyard of the Cypess Inn, Carmel, California.

Author: GlitterThistle

I’m a pragmatic romantic who finds myself decorating things, places, friends and inevitably myself. I love color, texture, and shiny things. I’m a talker. I’ve been an avid traveler and the giver of travel, dating, and fashion advice to my circle of friends for 2 decades. My goals are conversation, creativity, connectedness, exploration, and finding beauty to appreciate. Posts go up a couple times a week. Drop by, leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

