GlitterThistle

Fashion, Travel, Lifestyle, and Opinions on Everything and Nothing.

Boots

1 Comment

I have been looking for the perfect pair of riding boots for at least 3 years now. I saw these last year and fell in love, but couldn’t find them.

The coveted boots

The coveted boots

This look is so great, the color of the leather, the layering of textures, and that back zip just does me in. I’m over the moon. And I can’t find them. Such is life. There are worse problems to have, no?

But I did find an amazing pair of short boots (also sorely needed) and I’m beyond happy with them. The look is fantastic, the leather is like butter, and they are so comfortable I wear them everywhere.

Alberto Fermani Siena.

Alberto Fermani Siena.

They were definitely an investment piece, but the quality is high enough they should last a decade minimum. I’m a big believer in comfortable shoes for healthy feet (thanks for teaching me that Mom!) and in having shoes resoled, belts shortened or adding more holes to them, etc. Your local Cobbler can be a great source for caring for all your leather items. I once took in a Kate Spade purse (I’ve had it 5 years and still carry it at least a few times a week) into which a kind stranger spilled his diet coke. They restored it to it’s beautiful pre-treat state.

If you have pieces you love but don’t use much anymore, consider taking them to a cobbler or having the dry cleaner alter or repair them. Restoring old favorites to circulation both saves you the heartache of losing a favorite piece, and the expense of replacement.

What do you do to preserve valued wardrobe staples? Or your special occasion pieces come to that?

Author: GlitterThistle

I’m a pragmatic romantic who finds myself decorating things, places, friends and inevitably myself. I love color, texture, and shiny things. I’m a talker. I’ve been an avid traveler and the giver of travel, dating, and fashion advice to my circle of friends for 2 decades. My goals are conversation, creativity, connectedness, exploration, and finding beauty to appreciate. Posts go up a couple times a week. Drop by, leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

One thought on “Boots

  1. Pingback: Dream Boots « GlitterThistle

Leave a Reply

